The Maryville District was created in 1953 as part of the Holston Conference.  In 2018, the District consisted of 64 churches in 50 charges in Monroe, Blount, Loudon, and Sevier Counties (with one church in Roane County and two in Knox County). The District had one preaching station Huskey's Grove), one mission congregation (Hispanic church at The Potter's House and St. John UMC, Sevierville First UMC and Gatlinburg First UMC) and one new church start (The Remedy).

These church rang from Middlesettlements UMC which locates its beginning at 1796 to The Remedy, a brand-new worship experience at Fairview UMC. Bishop Asbury preached in our area on numerous occasions in 1802, 1808, 1810, 1813, and 1815. Various markers commemorate Asbury's journeys and preaching in the area. Some churches count their earliest services at campgrounds that dotted the area beginning in the early 1800s.


In January 2018, the Holston Conference United Methodist Church became nine districts with new names. However, the Holston Conference United Methodist Women involving approximately 10,000 members, decided to hold off on reorganizing from 12 districts to nine until January 2019.

The Smoky Mountain District  consists of 72 churches, 60 charges, one Mission Congregation and one preaching station. The district includes all United Methodist churches in Blount, Sevier, Loudon County; South Knox County; and one in Roane County.

The Smoky Mountain District United Methodist Women was organized from a combination of units from the previous Knoxville, Oak Ridge and Maryville Districts. The boundary includes Blount, Knox, Loudon and Sevier Counties in Tennessee.